March 29, 2024, 10:18:41 AM

Author Topic: Your job, study or future plans?  (Read 5439 times)

Offline RakshaWw

• Head Admin
    • View Profile
Your job, study or future plans?
« on: August 16, 2014, 07:30:51 AM »
As some of you may know, I haven't been very active here because of my work and study.

I'm currently studying Companion Animal Services cert III at university and working as a Vet Nurse Assistant at a vet, an Animal Attendant at the local animal shelter and I'm a Foster Carer & Volunteer for a dog/cat rescue organisation. That is a lot of work, especially since just half a year ago all I used to do is sit on my butt and play games.

I see a lot of injured animals, I assist with a lot of surgeries(including desexing, dentistry and tumor removal) and once I even had to witness a perfectly healthy animal be put to sleep. But sometimes I get reminded why I do what I do... I'll list a few of my stories.

Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppies
Spoiler for Hiden:

This is a very bad image, but there's a few 7 week old Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppies in this photo that were sleeping off their anesthetic after I assisted with their desexing surgeries.

They were so little and even though we highly recommended to the owner that they shouldn't be desexed until at least 8 weeks old, the breeder/owner still insisted on them being done at 7 weeks since they were meant to be flown off to their new homes in a week.

All of the surgeries went well and they're all okay though :)

Bengal cat
Spoiler for Hiden:

This cat was in for desexing too, which I missed, but afterwards it was my job to microchip him and do an examination to make sure there was no obvious health issues such as infected ears, red eyes, teeth problems, etc.

He was a beautiful cat, both looks and personality wise.

Cat adoptions
Spoiler for Hiden:

My class had to make some cat toys and donate them to the shelter.